GRAND LEDGE PUBLIC SCHOOLS **Board of Education**

Virtual Special Meeting – May 4, 2021

MINUTES

President Sara Clark Pierson called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m. She led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance.

ROLL CALL

Roll Call by Board President Sara Clark Pierson indicated the presence of **Board Members**: Sara Clark Pierson, remotely from Bethesda, Maryland, Jarrod Smith remotely from Delta Township, Ingham County; Nicole Shannon, remotely from Oneida Township, Eaton County; Jon Shiflett remotely from the City of Grand Ledge, Eaton County; Denise DuFort remotely from the Monitor Township, Bay County; Patrick McKennon remotely from Oneida Township, Eaton County; Ben Cwayna remotely from City of Grand Ledge, Eaton County. Others in Attendance Aaron Yusten, Alison Gaffner, Allison Bengel, Amanda Gabriel, Amber Swint, Amy Bowers, Amy Ellsworth, Amy Kruppe, Ann Paguette-Lukens, Annie Reik, Beth Aprill, Bethany Deschaine, Bev Blair, Beverly Hinton, Bill Albrecht, Bill Barnes, Bri Dennis, Brian Flowerday, Bridget Cheney, Carla Postell, Carly Waldrop, Cassie Graven-Watts, Cathy Fox, Chelsey Martinez, Chris Groves, Christina LaCasse, Christy Lobdell, Cindy Zerbe, Colleen Price, D'Anne Golub, Dan Cwayna, Dawn Rice, Deborah Traxinger, Denise Green, Doug Waldrop, Elizabeth Watson, Ellie Darnell, Erica Ledesma, Erika Conley, Erika Resh, Erin Ries, Greg Kish, Heather Algrim, Jamie McKennon, Jarrod Smith, Jenna Riekse, Jennifer McCrumb, Jenny Waybright, Jeremy Babcock, Jim Gee, Jim Teahan, John David, John Ellsworth, John Hubbard, Kathy Shoenfelder, Kelly Smith, Kim Abed, Kim Mulvenna, Kimberly Shoup, Kurt Rhodes, Lara Hubbard, Larry Johnson, Lindsey Fender, Lucinda Shier, Margo Susnjar, Marilyn Schneider, Megan Spedoske, Melissa Mazzola, Michael Dillars, Michelle Krause, Nancy Rasinske, Nancy Sly, Nate Moore, Nikki Almy, Nola Cockroft, Pat St. George, Rachel Greco, Robert Hovenkamp, Robin Mason, Rodriguez Broadnax, Sara Holding, Sara Taylor, Sarah Felsing, Sarah Hopper, Scott Millbrook, Sean Williams, Sherri Powers, Shirley Ries, Stacy Nelson, Stephanie Dulmage, Steve Baker, Taylor Brush, Teresa Dyer, Teresa Miller, Tina Saferian, Traci Gentilozzi, Vickie Cartwright, Whitney Craig, Mark Deschaine, and Kim Manning

President Clark Pierson provided an overview of the interview process advising a link is provided in the chat to provide feedback to the board. She went on to explain the process for the second-round interviews noting the board and the candidates will meet in person, while live streaming the interviews to anyone interested. At the conclusion of the last interview on the 11th, she will recess the meeting until the next evening, May 12th at 6:00 p.m. where she will reconvene the meeting to take public comment and allow for board deliberations and a selection of the next Superintendent of Grand Ledge Public Schools.

SUPERINTENDENT CANDIDATE INTERVIEWS

- **A.** Vickie Cartwright was interviewed at 6:10 p.m.
- **B.** Rodriguez Broadnax was interviewed at 7:00 p.m.
- **C.** Amy Kruppe was interviewed at 7:50 p.m.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Teresa Miller addressed the board expressing her support of Dr. Gabriel to serve as the next Superintendent of Grand Ledge Public Schools.

Margo Susnjar addressed the board expressing her support for Dr. Keesler and Dr. Davenport to serve as the next Superintendent of Grand Ledge Public Schools.

Deb Traxinger addressed the board expressing her support of Dr. Gabriel to serve as the next Superintendent of Grand Ledge Public Schools.

John Hubbard addressed the board expressing he wished the board would ask the candidates why they want to their current position.

President Clark Pierson recessed the meeting at 9:15 to allow for district staff to prepare the feedback forms received on tonight's candidates.

President Clark Pierson reconvened the meeting at 9:2 p.m.

DISCUSSION & SELECTION OF 2ND ROUND INTERVIEW CANDIDATES

President Clark Pierson reaffirmed the candidate profile created highlighting the qualifications the board was looking for in the next Superintendent. She then opened the floor for deliberation noting she would like each member to provide a synopsis overview of the candidates.

President Clark Pierson provided her overview of the candidate interviews.

Mr. McKennon provided his overview of the candidate interviews.

Mr. Smith provided his overview of the candidate interviews.

Mrs. DuFort provided her overview of the candidate interviews.

Mr. Shiflett provided his overview of the candidate interviews.

Ms. Shannon provided her overview of the candidate interviews.

Mr. Cwayna provided his overview of the candidate interviews and noting his selection of three candidates to bring back for a second-round interview.

President Clark Pierson then asked each board member to name their top three candidates they would like to see brought back for a second-round interview.

Mr. Smith provided the three candidates he would like to see at a second-round interview.

Mr. Shiflett provided the three candidates he would like to see at a second-round interview.

Mr. McKennon provided the three candidates he would like to see at a second-round interview.

Mrs. DuFort provided the three candidates she would like to see at a second-round interview.

Ms. Shannon provided the three candidates she would like to see at a second-round interview.

President Clark Pierson provided the three candidates she would like to see at a second-round interview.

President Clark Pierson noted the tally advising the final three candidates to be brought forward for a second round interview are: Dr. Davenport, Dr. Gabriel and Dr. Kruppe.

Further discussion among the board questioned bringing back four candidates but it was ultimately decided to stay with the original plan and timeline and bring the top three candidates back. Further discussion provided consensus for each of the members to draft three questions for each of the candidates and bring them to the interviews scheduled for May 11th. This round will allow for more dialogue with the candidate and the board will be able to ask questions of answers provided by the candidates. It was further noted the members will be doing their due diligence in light of not being able to make site visits by conducting phone calls and inquiries on the final three candidates. Final interviews will be scheduled for 75 minutes, with the meeting starting at 6:00 p.m. and the first interview being scheduled to start at 6:10 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 10:43 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted:

Attest:

Sara Clark Pier

Vicole Shannon, Secretary