GRAND LEDGE PUBLIC SCHOOLS **Board of Education**

Virtual Special Meeting – April 26, 2021

MINUTES

President Sara Clark Pierson called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m. led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance.

ROLL CALL

Roll Call by Board President Sara Clark Pierson indicated the presence of *Board Members*: Sara Clark Pierson, remotely from Eagle Township, Clinton County, Jarrod Smith remotely from Delta Township, Ingham County; Nicole Shannon, remotely from Oneida Township, Eaton County; Jon Shiflett remotely from the City of Grand Ledge, Eaton County; Denise DuFort remotely from the Monitor Township, Bay County; Patrick McKennon remotely from Oneida Township, Eaton County; Ben Cwayna remotely from City of Grand Ledge, Eaton County. *Others in Attendance* Mark Deschaine, Aaron Ruskin, Abby Kenney, Amber Swint, Amy Kruppe, Beth Aprill, Bill Albrecht, Bill Barnes, Briane Dennis, Bridget Cheney, Carly Waldrop, Coni Sullivan, D'Anne Golub, Dave Smith, Dawne Velianoff, Deb Auge-Pochert, Doug Waldrop, Erica Ledesma, Erin Ries, Greg Almy, Heather Algrim, Jamie McKennon, Jay Bennett, Jenny Waybright, John Ellsworth, John Hubbard, Kathy Schoenfelder, Kelly Smith, Kelly Webster, Ken Wright, Kent Yaney, Kim Abed, Kim Mulvenna, Lara Hubbard, Laura Olson, Lucinda Shier, Margo Susnjar, Marlene Promer, Megan Bouwens, Megan Spedoske, Melissa Mazzola, Michelle VanDuine, Mike Ostertag, Nancy Rasinske, Rebecca Fitton, Rich Pochert, Robin Elliott, Sara Holding, Shirley Ries, Sue Gardner, Taylor Brush, Teresa Reed, Vicki Wenzlick, Whitney Craig and Kim Manning

PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

President Pierson provided an overview of tonight's meeting noting the board will go into closed session is to review the applicants for Superintendent of Grand Ledge Public Schools.

CLOSED SESSION – Application Review

Motion by Ms. Shannon, seconded by Mr. Shiflett for the Grand Ledge Public Schools Board of Education to move into Closed Session for the purpose of reviewing applications for the position of Superintendent of Grand Ledge Public Schools as per Section 8(f) of the Open Meetings Act, PA 267 of 1976.

Roll Call Vote:

Mr. Smith	YES	Mrs. DuFort	YES
President Clark Pierson	YES	Mr. Shiflett	YES
Mr. Cwayna	YES	Ms. Shannon	YES
Mr. McKennon	YES	•	

The motion carried unanimously at 6:08 p.m.

The meeting reconvened in Open Session at 8:47 p.m.

SELECTION OF CANDIDATES TO BE INTERVIEWED FOR SUPERINTENDENT OF SCHOOLS

Kathy Schoenfelder of Ray & Associates led the board with their scoring matrix.

Denise DuFort provided her scoring of the candidates.

President Pierson provided an explanation of the scoring system.

Ben Cwayna provided his scoring of the candidates.

Jarrod Smith provided his scoring of the candidates.

Patrick McKennon provided his scoring of the candidates.

Jon Shiflett provided his scoring of the candidates.

Nicole Shannon provided her scoring of the candidates.

Sara Clark Pierson provided her scoring of the candidates.

Kathy Schoenfelder left the meeting to tally the selection of candidates.

President Pierson advised the search firm, Ray and Associates, is tallying the results based on everyone's ranking to determine which of the candidates to bring in for first round interviews on May 3 or May 4, 2021. She noted there were 33 candidates who applied representing a good pool of candidates.

Kathy Schoenfelder rejoined the meeting and advised the board requested seven (7) candidates for the first round of interviews. She presented the board with the outcome of the ranking.

President Clark Pierson noted based on the rankings the following candidates will be brought forward for interviews:

- Rodriguez Broadnax
- Vickie Cartwright
- Marcus Davenport
- Steve Gabriel
- Richard Hughes
- Venessa Kessler
- Amy Kruppe

Motion by Denise DuFort, seconded by Jarrod Smith for the Grand Ledge Public Schools Board of Education to extend an invitation to interview for Superintendent of Grand Ledge Public Schools to the seven candidates named by President Sara Clark Pierson: and request Ray & Associates to establish a first round interview schedule with these applicants.

Roll Call Vote

President Clark Pierson	YES	Mr. Shiflett	YES
Mr. Cwayna	YES	Ms. Shannon	YES
Mr. McKennon	YES	Mr. Smith	YES
Mrs. DuFort	YES	•	

The motion carried unanimously.

DISCUSSION & AGREEMENT OF INTERVIEW QUESTIONS & PROTOCOL

President Clark Pierson advised she would prefer a group of three board members meet with Ray & Associates to finalize the interview questions. She named Jon Shiflett, Denise DuFort and Ben Cwayna to work with Ray & Associates to develop the questions for first round interviews. She went on to advise the board welcomes community member input and noted anyone with input can call or email the board members. She also noted the board will take public comment during the process. She noted the first-round interviews will take place on May 3 with four of the candidates and again on May 4 with three candidates.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Dawne Velianoff addressed the board regarding curriculum noting nothing has been brought forward with regard to this in the superintendent search and questioning if curriculum changes are brought to the board. She further noted the board, with the exception of Ben Cwayna, should be recalled.

Jay Bennett addressed the board to thank them for their hard work and noting he has full faith they will make a prudent decision on the next Superintendent.

Margo Susnjar addressed the board thanking them as well and asking them to remember trust is a huge theme this year and requesting they ask the Superintendent candidates their plan for bringing people together and to unite the community again.

Vice President Smith noted Ms. Susnjar made a great point and assured this was a big factor in selecting the candidates.

Trustee McKennon recognized our music education teachers for Grand Ledge being honored as one of the best communities for music education in the region.

Trustee DuFort noted this has been a very interesting process.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 9:31 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted: Attest:

Nicole Shannon, Secretary

Sara Clark Pierson, President